Member Roster and Hall of Fame

This is a list of SMPS members with their awards, accomplishments and publications. If you would like YOUR name added or information updated, please contact the SMPS Treasurer.

Name Member Since Awards & Accomplishments Publications Other
Jose Aguillon, Jr. 2013 Hate, Love and Loneliness  Student member
Amanda Bailey 2013
Betty Benner 2008
Phyllis Borchert before 2006
Ed Brekke-Kramer before 2006 2nd Place Adult – Humorous Category of the Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride Contest 2013  Image and the Word Participant
Yvonne Cariveau 2005 SMPS Officer, Image and the Word Co-Founder, Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride Founder Mankato WordWalk 2011
Colin Chambers before 2006
Susan Stevens Chambers before 2006 Winner of numerous LOMP poetry contests. Completed 2 poetry manuscripts, a chapbook, and finished a play. Has a novel in progress.

Minneapolis Regional News; UU Minister’s Publication; Minn. Law and Politics Magazine; Family Law Forum-a magazine for divorce attorneys; The Legal Studies Forum “Off the Record, an Anthology of Poetry by Lawyers”

Hostess of the Blizzard and Woodtick Poetry Retreats, Liasion for SMPS to LOMP, Poetry Contest Chair for LOMP and Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride and an Image and the Word Participant

Has taught poetry in schools in Minnesota, Texas, Utah and Iowa. She has presented poetry, copyright and publishing contract speeches in Louisiana, Arkansas, Indiana, Iowa, Utah, Florida, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Keegan Chambers Anderson 2008  Student member
Meredith Cook before 2006 Collegiate Poetry Contest for “Lyric” magazine, 1977, LOMP 2012 Award of Merit winner and winner of numerous LOMP poetry contests and award.
Word Flight  Editor of the LOMP magazine, the Mocassin since 1990

Image and the Word Participant

Shirley Ensrud before 2006 Poet laureate of the League of Minnesota Poets Small Town and Everyday Things : (Of Children and Community)  Image and the Word Participant
Christina Flaugher before 2006 President of the League of Minnesota Poets, past Manningham Poetry Contest Chair Intervals in Life
Britt Fleming 2007 Interview with Britt, Britt’s website
Myra Frank 2012
Craig Groe 2008 Visual artist,

SMPS 4th Thursday night Coordinator

Monica Haack before 2006 Lifetime Member of Southern Mn Poets Society
Janelle Hawkridge 2011 Poet Artist Collaboration XI, Crossings at Carnegie in Zumbrota, April, 2012
Esther Hoffmann 2012 3rd Place Adult Humorous Category of  Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride  2013
John Just 2013 1st Place Adult Humorous Category Winner of Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride 2013
Derek Liebertz 2005 SMPS President in 2012-2013, Image and the Word Co-Founder  Image and the Word Participant
Judy Mosca 2008
Sandra Newbauer before 2006  Image and the Word Participant
Henry Panowitsch 2010 2nd and 3rd Place Adult Serious Category Winner of Mankato Poetry Walk and Ride 2013 Prairie enthusiast,
Kathleen Pederzani before 2006 1998 and 2000 winner of several NFSPS poetry contests
Joellen Preston 2013  Also a visual artist,
Lorna Rafness 2013 Happenstance Girl
John Rezmerski 1997 Professor Emeritus of Gustavus Adolphus College, Devins Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Rhysling Award of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. Past poet laureate of the League of Minnesota Poets. County Lines,Growing Down, Counting Sheep and many others

Image and the Word Participant

 Sarah Tetzloff  2013
 Geraldine Tostenson  2004  SMPS Treasurer until June, 2013

Youth Members

Member Since
Kaya Berry   2013
Kate Brinkert   2013
Madison Ceminsky   2013
Isaiah Heins   2013
Lottie Holz   2013
Quinn Mackie   2013
Jacqui McGregor   2013
Anya Rodgers   2013
Mikayla Rudolf   2013